Teaser 1946: Not the millennium bug

From The Sunday Times, 2nd January 2000 [link]

Do you remember all that fuss over the “Millennium bug”?

On that New Year’s Day I typed a Teaser on my word processor. When I typed in 2000 it actually displayed and printed 1900. This is because whenever I type a whole number in figures the machine actually displays and prints only a percentage of it, choosing a random different whole number percentage each time.

The first example was bad enough but the worrying this is that is has chosen even lower percentages since then, upsetting everything that I prepare with numbers in it. Luckily the percentage reductions have not cut any number by half or more yet.

What percentage did the machine print on New Year’s Day?

This puzzle is included in the book Brainteasers (2002). The puzzle text above is taken from the book.

[teaser1946]